"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Beef

Old 03-28-2008, 09:33 PM   #1
Sous Chef

Stuck on Steak

I am still pretty new to the world of cooking though I have gotten better. I don't get frustrated when something comes out bad, I take it as a learning experience. I've finally accepted the fact that cooking is something that needs to be practiced and may not always turn out the best the first time!
I have tried to cook T-Bones, NY strips, sirloin...you name it, I've tried to cook it. You would think with all the times of coming out so well done it's close to leather that I would be able to figure out what in the world I am doing wrong!
I've tried searing it on the stove then finishing it in the oven...I've tried using the Foreman Grill...I've tried broiling it in the oven...what am I doing wrong?

Old 03-28-2008, 09:36 PM   #2
Master Chef

close to leather sounds like cooked to long. If you gave us more step by step on what you did we would have a better idea.
There are a lot of factors including cut of meat, marinades if any, rubs if any, cooking methods, cooking times, and how you like it done from rare to well done.

Old 03-28-2008, 09:43 PM   #3
Sous Chef

I like my steak medium rare. The only rub I use is a little S&P. As far as the cooking time goes, I based that on what the outside looks like and when I cut into it, what that looks like. But usually the outside looks grayish and doesn't look like a steak should so I cook it a little long to make it look appatizing. Any help?
Old 03-28-2008, 09:53 PM   #4
Master Chef

Higher heat to sear the outside before finishing in the oven. A good sear takes a high heat so if it is graying then the heat is too low.
About five minutes on each side in a little EVOO and garlic with just your rub should do it, and depending on the thickness that may be all you need.