Wanted: Sour Beef Recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rittaskforce

Assistant Cook
I would like to know if anybody has a recipe for sour beef made from scratch. I have used the bottled stuff it turns out fine. but I just want to try it a different way to see what it taste like

thanks

I found a recipe here but I have never used it before. Be patient someone will probably come along soon with something tried and true. It does look interesting. Does it sound like what you are talking about?

Sauerbraten is delicious. I guess this is what you are speaking of. I have never seen it "bottled". It is easy enough--marinate in the vinegar mix for several days and then treat like a pot roast.

Sauerbraten sure is delicious, and overall I think it's not too hard to get it in that right state. bubba_sybo good find :)

yes you can find the sauerbraten mix in a bottle its made by mrs. minnicks its found in the vinegar asile

my mom makes a killer sauerbraten - adpated from the Joy of Cooking. If you have that book, look it up. I think I posted it on here somewhere but can't find it at the moment.

Sour Beef & Dumplings from scratch

I grew up in Baltimore and this was always a much desired meal. A restaurant called Silver Spring Mining Co. makes good Sour Beef, too. I use my family's recipe and it turns out great. Sometimes you have to add more ginger snaps, but the more you prepare it, the better you get. Sometimes you feel like throwing the dumplings, but hang in there; it's well worth it. Here is the recipe - ENJOY and happy new year!

Sour Beef and Dumplings (Sauerbraten)

Ginger Snap Gravy:

Take 24 ginger snaps early in day and cover with 1-1/4 cups of water - let soak 'til soft - needs stirring off and on to get it fairly smooth.

Dumplings:

Early in the day, do this: Make croutons out of 2 slices of bread cut in small squares and browned - help dumplings float.