What do I do with brisket?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

legend_018

Head Chef
Hubby bought a large long flat beef brisket at BJ's. We cut it into some steak size pieces and some loin size pieces. He did cut some of the fat off.

what do I do with brisket?

I've never cut one up. I normally smoke or grill mine whole. I marinate mine in Claudes and then wrap in foil and put on the grill on low for about 5 hours or on the smoker about 8.

There are two ways I have cooked it before and seen it cooked. I am sure there are plenty of other great ways to cook it, but I will share the two I know and love. One is smoking, which is out of the question because you have already cut it into smaller pieces. I am not an expert at smoking, but I not think it would work as well with smaller pieces. The way I reccomend you do it is braise it like you would a pot roast. Just cook it in some stock, mirepoix, tomatoes, some red wine, a sachet, and let it braise. As for the stock, I would use veal stock if you have it, but chicken stock would do. When the meat is all tender and done, take out the meat. Strain the liquid and reduce the braising liquid and you have a sauce to go along with it. Serve it with a nice salad, and some oven baked potatoes you got your self a delicious meal.

For the potatoes just cut pieces into about large dice. Coat the potatoes with oil, salt, pepper, and any other spices you want. Then when there is about 5 minutes left in the cooking sprinkle them with chopped fresh thyme and rosemerry.

For the salad, I think almost any light salad would do. Even something like a cesear salad would be good. There are so many great salads, and I am sure you have a favorite, so just pick any you like.

I hope this helped.

MARINATED BARBECUE BEEF BRISKET
Yield: 6 servings
1 cup ketchup
1 cup water
2 tablespoons each: minced onion, cider vinegar
1 tablespoon mustard