"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Pork

Old 04-07-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Send a message via Yahoo to kellyk
How do you make a good tender juicy ham?

Hello to All. This is my first time on here so bare with me as I learn to use this site. I love to cook first off. I am wanting to bake a ham, but in the past I've had bad luck, not sure if was the ham or me. How do you bake a nice tender juicy ham? What all do y' all use to baste with or bake in? Pls help?

Old 04-15-2009, 01:33 PM   #2
Senior Cook

Kelly, I purchased a Mash's Brown Sugar Ham, and I wrapped it in heavy duty foil and baked it at 325 degrees for 18-20 minutes per pound. It turned out wonderful, but the ham was a good quality ham, too. I did not baste the hame and it was very moist.

Old 04-15-2009, 03:12 PM   #3
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

We usually purchase the Smithfield Hardwood Smoked Ham.
These are 1/2 hams. We try to get the butt portion but the shank portion is generally easier to find.
The directions on the back of the label produce very good results.
Pre heat oven to 325. Place the ham, cut side down, on a rack in a roasting pan. Put a half inch to one inch of water in the pan. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 18-20 minutes per pound.
I am certain that you will be pleased with the results.
Old 04-15-2009, 03:13 PM   #4
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

By the way, Kelly, Welcome to DC!
Old 04-15-2009, 03:35 PM   #5
Head Chef

I just follow the directions as the others have said, but sometimes I remove the foil 1/2 hour before the ham is done to allow for glazing.
Old 04-15-2009, 05:16 PM   #6
Master Chef