How do you make a good tender juicy ham?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kellyk

Assistant Cook
Hello to All. This is my first time on here so bare with me as I learn to use this site. I love to cook first off. I am wanting to bake a ham, but in the past I've had bad luck, not sure if was the ham or me. How do you bake a nice tender juicy ham? What all do y' all use to baste with or bake in? Pls help? :chef:

Kelly, I purchased a Mash's Brown Sugar Ham, and I wrapped it in heavy duty foil and baked it at 325 degrees for 18-20 minutes per pound. It turned out wonderful, but the ham was a good quality ham, too. I did not baste the hame and it was very moist.

We usually purchase the Smithfield Hardwood Smoked Ham.
These are 1/2 hams. We try to get the butt portion but the shank portion is generally easier to find.
The directions on the back of the label produce very good results.
Pre heat oven to 325. Place the ham, cut side down, on a rack in a roasting pan. Put a half inch to one inch of water in the pan. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 18-20 minutes per pound.
I am certain that you will be pleased with the results.

I just follow the directions as the others have said, but sometimes I remove the foil 1/2 hour before the ham is done to allow for glazing.

Ham is made from lean pork. And as with all meat, be it pork, beef, lamb, even poultry, final meat temperature decides the quality of the meat. If you cook it much above a final temperature of 165'F, it toughens and dries out. The secret to moist meat is to use a thermometer, preferably something that has an alarm to alert you when you are close to your target temperature. Time will vary depending on how the meat was butchered, aged, cured, by size, and cooking temperature. But if you gauge by meat temperature, then you can't go wrong.