"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Pork
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2005, 03:21 PM   #11
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,393
yankeefan...
let's just say I was dreaming about the smell of smoked foods for a couple of days afterwards.
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 10:36 PM   #12
Executive Chef
 
AllenOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, Oklahoma
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by texasgirl
okay. I've seem pictures of AllenMI's pork butt on his grill and it looked soooo good. I wouldn't want bbq, I like meat with just seasoning or original tastes to them.
Awww....gee! You're going to make me blush!

In most BBQ restaurants, the sauce is a condiment, and is to be used sparingly. Someplaces may not even offer a sauce upfront, you have to ask for it. And, depending on what part of the country you're from, "BBQ Sauce" differs. Eastern North Carolina uses a vinegar-based sauce. Some areas of the country, the sauce is hot and spicy, in others, it's sweet. I prefer a sweet, tomato-based sauce, although I'm quickly becoming addicted to Cattlemen's Texas Gold sauce (currently only available to restaurants).

When I make my pulled pork, I do the typical Pulled Pork BBQ Sandwich, using cheap, nutritionally worthless white buns (white bread will work in a pinch). I squirt just a little sauce over the meat, slap the top bun on, and down a few. Cold beer optional
__________________

__________________
Peace, Love, and Vegetable Rights!
Eat Meat and Save the Plants!
AllenOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 06:55 AM   #13
Executive Chef
 
marmalady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA,SouthCarolina
Posts: 2,642
When I do pulled pork or Kahlua pig in the oven, I set the roast on a rack in a roasting pan, season w/salt, pepper, garlic, then put a little water in the bottom of the pan, and season the water with a few drops of liquid smoke. Then cover the whole thing with foil, put in a 300 degree oven, and cook for 4-5 hours, depending on how big it is. Then - if you want 'burnt ends' - uncover the pan, crank the heat to 450, and roast for another 15 minutes or so.

Let the roast cool a bit before you 'pull' it, and be sure to add back all the juices after you've pulled; otherwise the meat will be veeery dry!

PS - This is a totally basic way to do this - of course you could season with whatever rub you like instead of just plain salt/pepper.
__________________
marmalady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 09:24 AM   #14
Head Chef
 
abjcooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,460
So just to clarify, if I use liquids the roast can either cook in the little bit of liquid at the bottom or you can put the liquid under the roast that is on a rack and let the liquid steam around the roast?
__________________
Go Sooners
abjcooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 09:43 AM   #15
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenMI
I'm quickly becoming addicted to Cattlemen's Texas Gold sauce (currently only available to restaurants).
Allen, do you know if that is the same Cattlemen's gold sauce that the 99 restaurant chain (do you have the 99's by you?) uses for their Gold Fever Wings?

My wife is addicted to Gold Fever Wings and I tried to duplicate them at home, but couldn't. I called the 99's and through some deep digging (I was a bit deceitful to get the info ) was able to find out that all they use on those wings is Cattlemens Gold. I tried to find some way of buying it, but like you I found it is only available to restaurants. My local supermarket just started carrying 3 other varieties of Cattlemens, but not the gold :(

OK sorry that I got off topic. Back to discussing pulled pork
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 11:24 AM   #16
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by abjcooking
I want to make some pulled pork, but I don't have a smoker or grill. I was thinking that the best way to cook it with maintaining the best flavor would be to cook it in the oven slow (like around 250) through the day. Is this the best way?
I have found I like to fix mine in the crockpot. It works for me.
__________________
bevkile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2005, 10:20 PM   #17
Executive Chef
 
Raine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 3,549
GB, and they are possible mixing the cattlemen's with something. Cattlemens' markets it that way, a base sauce to mix with other ingredients to create your own special sauce. You can get it thru US Foods or Sysco, you may have to pay a little more tha a restaurant would. We got a gallon from US Foods to expirement with.

Just glad y'all didn't call it BBQ!
__________________
Raine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2005, 10:27 PM   #18
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raine
Just glad y'all didn't call it BBQ!
LOL I know better than that

No they do not mix it with anything. The manager I spoke with was very willing to tell me exactly how they made thier wings. He said all they use it cattlemans right from the bottle and nothing else.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2005, 11:38 PM   #19
Assistant Cook
 
DugDbold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 49
Andy M... I sure hope that wasn't the same mop you used for the floor...??? :]
__________________
Dugger

"If it's stupid, but it works, it isn't stupid."
DugDbold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 07:23 AM   #20
Executive Chef
 
marmalady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA,SouthCarolina
Posts: 2,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by abjcooking
So just to clarify, if I use liquids the roast can either cook in the little bit of liquid at the bottom or you can put the liquid under the roast that is on a rack and let the liquid steam around the roast?
Yepper - and I highly recommend using some type of rack, so you can get the 'crispies' from the bottom, too.

Just did a shoulder yesterday - a local store had whole shoulders on sale for $4 APIECE!! I got one that was 9 1/2 pounds!!!!
__________________

__________________
marmalady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.