"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Lamb

Old 05-16-2008, 03:07 AM   #1
Head Chef

How to infuse curry powder into lamb stew?

My lamb curry comes out OK, but the curry powder in the sauce is what gives the curry kick.
The lamb meat is still somewhat bland, even tho I stew it for 1.5 hours with plenty of curry powder when I go to make it. Any more than 1.5 hours and
the lamb comes out too soft. Low simmer.

How do I infuse the lamb chunks with the curry powder taste more?
Dry rub it with the curry powder (before cooking) and and let it sit in the fridge overnight?
Will that do anything?

Old 05-16-2008, 04:58 AM   #2
Executive Chef

A lot of curry recipes use marinades. Mix the curry powder with some natural or plain yoghurt and marinate the meat in this mix for several hours or overnight. The rub route may work but I have no experience of this.

You could also try making up your own curry powder by mixing the spices up yourself.

Old 05-16-2008, 08:27 AM   #3
Executive Chef

Thelast time I did a curry stew, I added the spice mixture to the oil in the pot for a few minutes after browing the meat. It was very infused.
Old 05-16-2008, 08:51 AM   #4
Head Chef

Alright so the technique to infuse flavor is actually using freshly ground spices (cumin, corrainder, black pepper, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves etc.) and freshly chopped ginger and garlic.

When you make the curry. First add oil, then onions and cook them until they are golden brown. Next add the ginger and garlic and toast them. Add the dry spices and lamb and fry that in oil for 5-10 minutes. Then add lots of chopped tomatoes and keep frying for another 5 minutes or so.

Don't add a ton of water but just about a cup or so. Cook it until almost tender. Ensure the gravy is not runny but nice and thick. Reduce it if you can and then finish it by adding a couple of tbsps of yogurt.