Confused about deer parts...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Biberche

Assistant Cook
My father's hunting group shot a couple of young does and he brought one home. It was properly prepared and dressed in the woods. It was shot in the chest, so rib parts were useless. He skinned it and butchered it himself, even though this was his first try (the man is a retired surgeon afterall!). He brought meat inside and I bagged it, labeled it and put it in the freezer, smiling in anticipation.

I am fairly new to cooking game, but I also want to get the most out of this wonderful animal. So I started reading about different preparation methods, and noticed it was compared to beef in terminology. But my pieces of deer did not look like any roasts or steaks of beef I've ever seen! They looked more like lamb. And now I am confused: What to do with front quarters, which he left whole (from elbow joint up, with shoulder blades)? Can I braise them like I would a lamb's leg? What to do with neck and spine parts (they have a decent amount of meat on)? Hind quarters he deboned and I already have ideas about preparations (maybe a hearty "daube"). Tenderloins are beautifully separated and waiting a culinary muse to visit.

I'd appreciate any advice on this.

I'm not an expert... hubby brought home his first deer this year too. I think you've made a mistake though leaving the bone in the leg from, all that I've heard that makes the meat taste bad.

For the boneless pieces if they are small enoungh we've just been frying them up in either a little olive oil or butter adding salt, pepper and or a little garlic. Roasts I believe can be cooked just like you do beef. Did he save the heart and liver? Those are really good too.

Good luck!