Need ideas for leg of venison.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

derailedbus

Assistant Cook
My dad just gave me a whole leg of venison. I certainly don't want to waste it, but I have no idea what to do with it. It's pretty large, completely guessing, but probably about 12 pounds. He suggested thawing it out, then cutting off meat to cook, but I think since I've got no butchering experience, that I may be better off roasting or grilling it, then cutting off all that I can. And I haven't even unwrapped it, so I'm not even sure if it's front or hind leg, but it's pretty round at the widest part, so I'll assume hind section. Any suggestions?

My dad just gave me a whole leg of venison. I certainly don't want to waste it, but I have no idea what to do with it. It's pretty large, completely guessing, but probably about 12 pounds. He suggested thawing it out, then cutting off meat to cook, but I think since I've got no butchering experience, that I may be better off roasting or grilling it, then cutting off all that I can. And I haven't even unwrapped it, so I'm not even sure if it's front or hind leg, but it's pretty round at the widest part, so I'll assume hind section. Any suggestions?

I would definitely defrost and portion it. You don't have to be an accomplished butcher to do it. It may not be pretty but you'll be better off.

One of the best flavors I've ever experienced was at a family reunion about 20 years ago. The star of the show was "Venison Chili!!!" About 15 gallons of it.