"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Wild Game

Old 06-02-2015, 07:45 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Need ideas for leg of venison.

My dad just gave me a whole leg of venison. I certainly don't want to waste it, but I have no idea what to do with it. It's pretty large, completely guessing, but probably about 12 pounds. He suggested thawing it out, then cutting off meat to cook, but I think since I've got no butchering experience, that I may be better off roasting or grilling it, then cutting off all that I can. And I haven't even unwrapped it, so I'm not even sure if it's front or hind leg, but it's pretty round at the widest part, so I'll assume hind section. Any suggestions?

Old 06-02-2015, 08:14 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by derailedbus View Post
My dad just gave me a whole leg of venison. I certainly don't want to waste it, but I have no idea what to do with it. It's pretty large, completely guessing, but probably about 12 pounds. He suggested thawing it out, then cutting off meat to cook, but I think since I've got no butchering experience, that I may be better off roasting or grilling it, then cutting off all that I can. And I haven't even unwrapped it, so I'm not even sure if it's front or hind leg, but it's pretty round at the widest part, so I'll assume hind section. Any suggestions?
I would definitely defrost and portion it. You don't have to be an accomplished butcher to do it. It may not be pretty but you'll be better off.

Old 06-02-2015, 08:19 PM   #3
Executive Chef

One of the best flavors I've ever experienced was at a family reunion about 20 years ago. The star of the show was "Venison Chili!!!" About 15 gallons of it.
Old 06-02-2015, 09:24 PM   #4
Master Chef