Venison Chili Recipes???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
S

Some Like it Hot

Hi!!

I want to try and make vension chili. This is my first time using venison in cooking. Anyone have any venison chili recipes they can vouche for?

I had another question, is it common to mix beef or any other meats in with the venison? I'm using ground venison.

Thank you!

I mix beef fat with with venison prior to grinding for "hamburger"....Pork fat...some times a little pork meat prior to grinding when making sausage.

You favorite beef chili recipe will work for ground venison.

Hi SLH,
Don't know where you got your ground venison from, but you may find it neccesary to ad some fat to your mix as venison is naturally lean. Maybe mix in some minced bacon, and some cubed chuck roast with the fat included. After that, you can pretty much use any chile recipe. Just adapt the seasoning to your taste, write down your season measurements and change what you don't like from batch to batch. Just don't forget to log your changes.

Thank you Uncle Bob and JohnL. I did not realize that using venison would be that easy. Thanks for the information!!

JohnL - I made the purchase from Black Wing. Have you ever heard of them? It appears to be pretty lean, so I suspect that I will be adding fat.

I just use my regular old chili recipe. Uncle Bob is right though Venison has less fat so if you are using it for any thing like meat balls you'll want to add some pork or something.

Good luck. Venison is great!!!