"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Wild Game

Old 10-15-2008, 04:24 PM   #1
Some Like it Hot

Venison Chili Recipes???

Hi!!

I want to try and make vension chili. This is my first time using venison in cooking. Anyone have any venison chili recipes they can vouche for?

I had another question, is it common to mix beef or any other meats in with the venison? I'm using ground venison.

Thank you!

Old 10-15-2008, 04:33 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

I mix beef fat with with venison prior to grinding for "hamburger"....Pork fat...some times a little pork meat prior to grinding when making sausage.

You favorite beef chili recipe will work for ground venison.

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:40 PM   #3
Head Chef

Hi SLH,
Don't know where you got your ground venison from, but you may find it neccesary to ad some fat to your mix as venison is naturally lean. Maybe mix in some minced bacon, and some cubed chuck roast with the fat included. After that, you can pretty much use any chile recipe. Just adapt the seasoning to your taste, write down your season measurements and change what you don't like from batch to batch. Just don't forget to log your changes.
Old 10-15-2008, 04:58 PM   #4
Some Like it Hot

Thank you Uncle Bob and JohnL. I did not realize that using venison would be that easy. Thanks for the information!!

JohnL - I made the purchase from Black Wing. Have you ever heard of them? It appears to be pretty lean, so I suspect that I will be adding fat.
Old 10-15-2008, 05:21 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via AIM to pdswife Send a message via MSN to pdswife Send a message via Yahoo to pdswife
I just use my regular old chili recipe. Uncle Bob is right though Venison has less fat so if you are using it for any thing like meat balls you'll want to add some pork or something.