"I do not share my recipes with anyone."

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CharlieD

Chef Extraordinaire
Well, it is not my line. I had some sweets, made by this woman, the other day and found them to be excellent so I asked her for the recipe. "NO, she says, no, I do not share my recipes with anyone. I give people recipe and they ruin it. No, I’m not going to do that anymore." No matter what I tried to do, how I explained to her that I’m a pretty decent chef my self and will make sure to fallow the recipe exactly and that the foods will taste as good as the original or I won’t serve them to anybody. My affords went to no avail. I just hate that. The stuff was so good, darn. What is wrong with people? She is not the first person I hear that. For me it is ridicules. I’m glad to share my recipes, I love when somebody says that they made some of my foods.

Sounds like this one thinks a great deal of herself. She's been complimented before and she wants to make sure no one steals her thunder. There are plenty of recipes for good sweets out there. I wouldn't worry about this one at all. Not worth it.

BC

my mil was like that charlie. i remember a few easters back, she made a coupla fantastic dishes (clear borscht, veal stew, butter and onion pierogi) so i asked her for the recipes and tips. she said no, so i thought it might be a tradition thing, so i asked her to teach my wife how to make them. she refused again. in time, i gathered that she had worked so hard perfecting her cooking, and that it was what made her special, so she didn't want anyone to copy her. then she wouldn't be so special, and wouldn't have something to give.