Cream based (thick) soups help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

frenchonionsoup

Assistant Cook
Hi guys,

I'm a complete novice at cooking. I've been experimenting with soups and I guess they are still 'drinkable' :LOL:

This question may sound stupid. But I need help in making thick soups like Campbells Cream of chicken, cream of mushroom, or french onion soup. The soup I made at home are not thick at all.

May I know what is it about these soup that make them thick? Is it adding flour or whip cream or what?

I've been researching on many recipes and some include flour, some whip cream, some milk and many others include both. So if I want my soup to be thick like those Campbells Cream of Chicken soup, what do I do?

If its milk that I need to add, will low fat milk work?

Thanks in advance guys!

'Cream of' soups are thickened with a white (bechamel) sauce. Cream of chicken, for example, would be basic chicken soup ingredients with the addition of the white sauce. Non-fat milk would work here.

As far as French onion soup, I'm not accustomed to seeing it thickened. It's basically a beef broth flavored with caramelized onions and some seasonings. Topped with bread and cheese, it becomes a gratinee.

Heavy cream is also used to thicken some soups. It also changes the flavor substantially. Adding cream to tomato soup will give you cream of tomato. It will taste smoother and creamier than the sharper taste of plain tomato soup.

Andy M. said:
'Cream of' soups are thickened with a white (bechamel) sauce. Cream of chicken, for example, would be basic chicken soup ingredients with the addition of the white sauce. Non-fat milk would work here.

As far as French onion soup, I'm not accustomed to seeing it thickened. It's basically a beef broth flavored with caramelized onions and some seasonings. Topped with bread and cheese, it becomes a gratinee.