How pure to keep onion soup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pellice

Cook
I am making onion soup for lunch for the next few days. I really want a classic onion soup flavor, BUT I am a single cook, and I can barely keep myself from throwing in "this and that." Because single cooks are ALWAYS looking to throw in the kitchen sink to use up what's sitting around. I know I am not going to be able to resist a potato or two, but when does onion soup stop being onion soup? Spinach? Have lots of that. Celery? I really need to use up a last couple of stalks.

Single cooks, do you resist the siren call of just throwing it all in the pot?

If you want classic French onion soup, it stops becoming the classic once you add anything to it besides broth, caramelized onions, bread and cheese.

Consider putting that extra stuff in a salad alongside the soup, or in a different soup later in the week.

You can add anything you want. At some point it stops being onion soup. But what do you care? As long as you like it, it's acceptable.

If you want classic French onion soup, it stops becoming the classic once you add anything to it besides broth, caramelized onions, bread and cheese.

Consider putting that extra stuff in a salad alongside the soup, or in a different soup later in the week.
Or, make a biggish pot of classic onion soup and put some of it aside and put the other stuff in the rest of the soup and continue cooking it.

Julia Child's recipe has a small amount of brandy and a larger amount of white vermouth in it. :rolleyes: :yum:

Well, GotGarlic, at least, you caught me before I could add a second potato. I am going to mitigate it by going the rest of the way with a slice of toast topped with cheese under the broiler.