How to prepare butternut squash for soups?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Turkeyman

Cook
Bought a butternut squash for the first time today -- tomorrow I'm going to use it in a soup. After peeling and de-seeding, how should I get it ready to use in a soup? Instead of pureeing it, I was thinking I would leave it in chunks in the soup...would that work? Tomorrow's soup will only simmer about 20-30 minutes...should I bake the squash first and then throw it into the soup or throw it in from the getgo? Need moderately detailed instructions since I'm a newb! Thanks!

Bought a butternut squash for the first time today -- tomorrow I'm going to use it in a soup. After peeling and de-seeding, how should I get it ready to use in a soup? Instead of pureeing it, I was thinking I would leave it in chunks in the soup...would that work? Tomorrow's soup will only simmer about 20-30 minutes...should I bake the squash first and then throw it into the soup or throw it in from the getgo? Need moderately detailed instructions since I'm a newb! Thanks!
I think you could simply cut it into chunks and toss it in the soup as long as you cook it until the chunks are soft. However, I also think you might get better flavor if you roast it first, although then the chunks will likely dissolve into the soup. Depending on what else is in the soup, that might be a good thing.

I would also consider sort of a compromise -- bake most of it and scrape the puree into the soup, using a blender if necessary to make it creamy, then add some cooked chunks for texture and visual appeal.