"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Soups, Stews & Casseroles > Soups
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2016, 04:58 PM   #11
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 16,914
You're welcome, Dave! Let us know how it goes.
__________________

__________________
The trouble with eating Italian food is that five or six days later you're hungry again. ~ George Miller
GotGarlic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 05:33 PM   #12
Master Chef
 
Chief Longwind Of The North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA,Michigan
Posts: 9,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
When making a basic stock, you only get gelatin if you include bones. Cooking just meat or veggies will give you a liquid broth.
Close, but... The gelatin is the result of melting the collagen, a cousin to protien. It is found in the connetive tissue between muscles. A roast with multiple muscles, like a beef shoulder, or chuck, will give you collagen, as will the connective tissue on short ribs. The bone marrow is also a good source of collagen, and is part of why you should break the bones in poultry when making a poultry broth, to extract and dissolve the marrow, and collagen. Also, any meat gristle, or cartilage is collagen based and will, after dissolving in boiling liquid, turn to gelatin. This is true of any meat, be it the Boston Butt from a pig, or the wing-tips of a chicken. Where there is marrow, ca cartilage, or marrow, you will dissolve the collagen in the simmering process.

Oh, and the gelatin is flavorless on its own. Think unflavored gelatin that you can purchase at the store. it has no flavor. However, the gelatin that is created by making a stock, or broth, will carry the flavor of the herbs, spices, and natural flavorings that are carried in the water. This is why the gelatinized broth from chicken tastes like chicken, and the geletinized broth from pork tastes like pork, and from beef, tastes like beaf, etc.

Veggies have no collagen and so don't make gelatin. When you eat Jello, you are eating unflavored gelatin, obtained by dissolving collagen and removing all other flavors from it, then adding flavoring and sugar. So, vegans can't be vegan if they eat Jello. But they can be if they use Agar Agar to make the gelatin, as it is a plant based gelatin that is similar to that obtained from animal collagen.

Seeeeeeya; Chief Longwind of the North
__________________

__________________
“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…"

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- http://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broth, stock

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.