"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Soups, Stews & Casseroles > Soups

Old 01-14-2016, 11:41 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question on Making Broth (or Stock)

Hi Everyone,

Ok, admittedly I'm a noob to cooking so please pardon any glaring errors.

I've started with the simple stuff like making soups and such, and am looking to start experimenting with broth, or stock (not sure which term is applicable).

Here is the skinny. Best I can tell whenever you make soup, and chill it, the soup will get a little gelatinous. I'm looking to make the broth and keep it in a more liquid form. By way of example something similar to the liquid broth made by Pacific Foods.

So is it something as simple as adding more water, or am I missing something? If anyone has a recipe, or suggestion, I'm all ears.

Thanks,
Dave

Old 01-14-2016, 12:11 PM   #2
Head Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveM View Post
Hi Everyone,

Ok, admittedly I'm a noob to cooking so please pardon any glaring errors.

I've started with the simple stuff like making soups and such, and am looking to start experimenting with broth, or stock (not sure which term is applicable).

Here is the skinny. Best I can tell whenever you make soup, and chill it, the soup will get a little gelatinous. I'm looking to make the broth and keep it in a more liquid form. By way of example something similar to the liquid broth made by Pacific Foods.

So is it something as simple as adding more water, or am I missing something? If anyone has a recipe, or suggestion, I'm all ears.

Thanks,
Dave