"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Soups, Stews & Casseroles > Slow Cookers

Old 09-22-2005, 09:05 PM   #1
Senior Cook

Crockpot biscuits

Do you think you could cook those ready-made biscuits in the crockpot? I figured since you could make cakes, you could cook other things like breads too. I was thinking of making chicken and dumplings and then cook the leftover biscuits regularly.

Old 09-23-2005, 06:24 PM   #2
Master Chef

Do you not have an oven?

Old 09-24-2005, 11:47 AM   #3
Senior Cook

Try it and let me know if it works.
Old 09-24-2005, 12:08 PM   #4
Senior Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by Constance
Do you not have an oven?
Nope, I'm a student in a dorm so nothing but a crockpot.

I think I will just try it out for fun.
Old 09-24-2005, 01:52 PM   #5
Executive Chef

Have you seen the units that have a tiny toaster oven, a coffee pot and a griddle or hot plate all together? They are small in size and cover a multitude of purposes.
Old 09-24-2005, 02:00 PM   #6
Senior Cook

Ah, that would be too easy...they only allow slow cookers and mircrowaves.
Old 09-24-2005, 02:37 PM   #7
Executive Chef

I suppose if your microwave has a browning unit, that could be used. I wouldn't think biscuits would be very good cooked in a crock pot. BUT, you could buy biscuits already cooked in your deli section of grocery store, or a restaurant that serves them and reheat in the microwave (briefly since they get hard in a hurry). There may be such as thing as a microwavable biscuit - they make many other things that I haven't used.
Old 09-24-2005, 07:44 PM   #8
Executive Chef

Send a message via AIM to Piccolina Send a message via MSN to Piccolina Send a message via Yahoo to Piccolina
Quote:
Do you think you could cook those ready-made biscuits in the crockpot?