Appliance purchases

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pattiw

Assistant Cook
Hi.

I'm new to discusscooking.com. I've been reading some postings re: wolf vs viking ranges. I'm building a new home and need to purchase EVERYTHING. I always thought I'd buy the 48 Viking but so many complaints make me rethink. Anybody have any suggestions Wolf? Thermador? DCS? Any??? and am also looking at the new Sub Zerio with the glass doors. Price tag is $12,000 - is this worth it or does anyone have suggestions. What is Sub Zero's closest competitor??

Thanks everyone. I'm glad to be part of this site.:chef:

Welcome to the site. i can not really give you any info on what you are asking, but thought I would share this anyway in case you find it helpful.

My parents have a Sub Zero fridge. It is a beautiful fridge and has a ton of space and is laid out great. they have had many expensive problems with it though. Each repair is in the thousands. Because the fridge is not a standard size they are forced to repair it instead of getting a different fridge. I do not know if their ranges are any better, but before you get a Sub Zero make sure you do plenty of research on how often they break down and how much they cost to repair.

I have a Viking.. all gas. We have enjoyed it. We've had some problems with the electronic ignitors for the oven...had to replace them a couple of times over 8 or so years. If I had it to do over again...I think I would go with a dual fuel model.

My suggestion would be...regardless of the make/model/brand you buy, make sure there is someone who services the product after the sale. Especially during the warranty period.

Have Fun!

... My suggestion would be...regardless of the make/model/brand you buy, make sure there is someone who services the product after the sale. Especially during the warranty period.

Have Fun!