Big Dog is in the house!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigDog

Head Chef
Howdy!

Now that I have posted for a while, I guess I can introduce myself and what brought me here.

I have a bachelor of science degree in law enforcement, which for a variety of reasons is turning out to be a dead end career path. Being 29 (almost 30) and not having started a career path, it's high time I get into action!

Growing up I had some experience in food service, working at a summer camp in the kitchen. In the summer, we had about 10 people including the head chef in the kitchen. Teams of 5 were made, and first shift worked breakfast through lunch clean up and second shift worked lunch through dinner cleanup/breakfast prep. For a brief time in the fall, me, myself, and I was the sole operator of said kitchen. With the assistance of my mom (the camp director) and the office manager, we handled the food needs for various retreats of 50 to 100 people. All said and done, I have maybe 3 or 4 summers under my belt, with the one fall season by myself (more or less).

My first stint in college lasted 2 years, where I was working in the food service area for money. You know how poor college folk are . . . . . Anyways, I was mainly involved in the mass prep for the dining hall, but having won the esteem of management, was able to transfer primarily to Market Square (basically a "fast food" made once ordered set up) where I ran the grill. I had an absolute blast. Burgers, chicken, breakfast foods, working the fryer, and so forth. I was in charge of cooking it all, and loved every minute of it. Having 40 - 60 some orders lined up in front of me with every square inch of the grill covered with something cooking was heaven for me. I got into synch with my assistants (plural due to it not always being the same person) and we could kick some butt when it came to rush time.