Eastern Iowa food lover

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cook w/ a conscious

Assistant Cook
Hi. I'm a cook from Iowa City, IA who's interested in everything connected with food, from the farmer to food politics to the simple meals of my kitchen. I've tried to find cooking clubs in my area but haven't been successful. If anyone could give me advice about getting into contact with people in my area who are interested in food I'd appreciate it. I'm excited to get started in this online community.

Welcome.

My advice is to start asking on a local level. Call upscale kitchen stores to see if they know of any dinner clubs. Ask people who shop at these types of stores.

Welcome to DC! Good luck on your quest! Iowa City - is the University there or no. Thinking that might be a good place to find like minded folks.

Welcome! I'm in Cedar Rapids, just up the interstate from you! I haven't heard of any type of clubs around here. Check with Kirkwood!!

Hi from Council Bluffs. I know over in Omaha there is a Whole Foods Market that has cooking expos. Lots of fun. Quite a drive, but could be fun for a weekend.

Hello and welcome to DC! There are tons of people on here from Iowa already, start connecting with them and go from there!

Check out New Pioneer Co-op and see if they have any info for you. I love that place.

Hi. I'm a cook from Iowa City, IA who's interested in everything connected with food, from the farmer to food politics to the simple meals of my kitchen. I've tried to find cooking clubs in my area but haven't been successful. If anyone could give me advice about getting into contact with people in my area who are interested in food I'd appreciate it. I'm excited to get started in this online community.

Welcome! Eastern or Western Iowa, doesn't matter to me as long as I get my Iowa 'Corn Fed' Beef and Pork :-p