Greetings from Eastern Long Island!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rparrny

Senior Cook
Since I've written about 15 posts today, I thought I should probably introduce myself. I'm home on disability since last Monday awaiting a double hip replacement and I'm going a little stir crazy...not used to sitting around. My kitchen is designed in such a way that I can do some cooking that doesn't require a lot of standing so I have been canning lately and came here looking for answers to a canning question.
I am currently a medical professional but spent ten years in my twenties as a school trained chef on a private estate in the Hamptons.
I have studied herbology for 30 years and taught alternative medicine as a professor at our local university to PA students for many years.
I like making my own soap and my most recent passion of the past year has been roasting my own coffee.
I've really enjoyed reading several posts today and appreciated the help I received.

I haven't made soap in years. My Grandmother taught me, I was the only grandchild to show an interest in soap making and cooking.

yeah, it's sad...my daughter has no interest in canning or soap making. She has however, started making herbal medicines since her son was born so it's not a total loss. My neighbor across the street has four girls, one of them, a firery little red head name Molly comes over for projects all the time. Her sisters come and want to make brownies and cookies...not Molly...she wants to make kimchi, apple gallets and a pear and almond torte. She has learned how to make Challah, how to can jams and how to make sauerkraut...I just adore her.

Last edited:
I haven't made soap in years. My Grandmother taught me, I was the only grandchild to show an interest in soap making and cooking.

Welcome Rparrny.