"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 06-25-2015, 08:07 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Hello From A Food Writer

Hi everyone-- my name is Ashlie Stevens. I am a writer working on a piece for Paste Magazine (I hope this is okay to share in the group? If not, I will gladly delete!) about recipes people grew up eating that incorporated Velveeta cheese, and how people are modifying those recipes now using different cheese or even making homemade Velveeta. If you have a favorite recipe or memory of a recipe that fits this theme, I'd love to hear from you and ask you a few questions for this piece! Thank you!

Old 06-25-2015, 10:41 PM   #2
Master Chef

Hi Ashlie and welcome.

You will find some here who love Velveeta, and those who think it's vile, to put it nicely.

Personally, I don't use it often but have nothing against it either. It's melting qualities are outstanding in my opinion.

What questions do you want to ask?

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 11:31 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Hello From A Food Writer

Welcome to DC.

I'm in the Velveeta fan corner. I get the low fat version, and find it makes a great base for cauliflower or broccoli cheese soup, as well as vegetable sauces. I usually add additional cheeses along with other ingredients. I too love Velveeta's melting qualities.
Old 06-25-2015, 11:59 PM   #4
Head Chef

I have to agree with the above. Due to its melting qualities, its often one of the cheese of choice for me to create a nice soup base for broccoli or cauliflower cheese soups. Ill often add additional varieties of cheese for different flavors.

I also remember 100 years ago, when i was in high school we made a killer mac and cheese using velveeta too, I don't remember the actual recipe though.

Also good to make a cheese sauce to drizzle on nachos too.
Old 06-26-2015, 12:07 AM   #5
Head Chef