Hello from Idaho

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kimberlyswindoll

Assistant Cook
Just starting off with a quick hello...I found this site by a search engine and it helps a lot to see what other people suggest...I'm a beginner cook and am a newly wed...I come from a military family and my mom is filipina...she is the best cook that I've ever known (which of course most people think their moms are)...anyhow, coming from my family, no one but mom cooked and she liked it that way...my mom's occupation is a cook, so she really doesn't know any different then being in control of the kitchen...so because of that, I didn't get too much experience in the kitchen and I've always been eager to learn...for example, my parents came to visit us for two weeks and for that whole time, my mom was always cooking...finally one day I told her that I wanted to cook her dinner for once and for her to relax...but if you knew my mom, then you know that wouldn't be happening...the whole time I was trying to prepare dinner, she was looking over my shoulder...it makes me smile to know that my mom cares for us so much that she takes on the job of cooking but getting her to hand over the reins was more work then just letting her cook lol...now I am a military wife and starting off my own cooking methods which is slowly but surely progressing (thanks to recipes that is and as long as mom's not around to stop me from cooking)...I'm hoping that one day I will be able to break out of my recipe shell and start experimenting on my own...Anyway, hopefully there are more people out there that grew up like I did that can relate...but that my little story to start off with....I wish everyone the best and hopefully you all will be able to see me progress in the world of cooking....take care

Kim

Last edited:
welcome kim!