Hello from north central Wisconsin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jseymour84

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone!

My name is Jesse, and I am an amateur cook. I have always loved to cook, and over the years of watching Food Network I have found that I enjoy shows like Chopped and Cutthroat Kitchen mostly because I picture myself in that show and try to put together a dish based on the same four ingredients, then watch what the pros do for their dishes.

My specialty is smoked and grilled meats. I do make my own dry rubs, BBQ sauces, and marinades, but that is the extent of my cooking knowledge. One thing that really puzzles me is that a food judge can taste a dish and instantly tell that there is not enough acid, or that it needs more of a bitter to balance the sweet. How the heck do they do that, and how does one know how much acid is needed?

I would love to reach a point where I can seriously think about trying out for an amateur cooking competition like the amateur shows they do on Chopped, but at this point, I am just not there yet. I did take 2nd place in People's Choice category for my ribs at my first competition last fall, but I would like to branch out into classical cuisine. The long winters up her mean that I can just smoke or grill everything. I mean, I'm a die hard smoker but I am not going to try to smoke ribs or chicken in -20 weather.

I am looking forward to getting to know you all, and I will try to not overwhelm the community with my newbie-ness. :LOL:

Hi, Jesse. Welcome to Discuss Cooking :)

My husband and I are just getting into smoking this year. Last night we smoked a chuck roast and made a sauce for it in a pan on the smoker. It was really good :yum:

I think the secret to balancing flavors is to taste as you go along. If your dish tastes a little too sweet, add a little vinegar or citrus juice, and so on.

Good to have you here.