"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 07-18-2009, 08:56 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Hello from Saskatchewan, Canada

Hi,
I have lived in Saskatchewan all my life (many different areas of the province). I work as a cook (mostly baking) at a seniors' lodge, cooking for about 120 people. So a batch of cookies might be 200, lol.
I also enjoy knitting, crocheting and sewing.
I will have been married to my husband for 30 years in December and have one adult daughter.

Old 07-18-2009, 10:17 AM   #2
Senior Cook

Send a message via AIM to Mark Webster
Hello from Kansas City, MO,
Would love to find out more about Saskatchewan.

Old 07-18-2009, 10:18 AM   #3
Head Chef

I used to have a boyfriend in Yorktown (sp?), Sask. In fact, that is where I saw the Queen!! Years ago when she travelled across Canada for the UK Games (or something like that) As she rounded a corner in a convertible, I squealed with delight, causing her to flinch!!!! hahaha!

Wyogal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 10:21 AM   #4
Everymom

Hi from Edmonton Jaydee. Welcome aboard!

Mark, imagine North Dakota only flatter with more wheat fields and you have Saskatchewan. The cities are medium sized and Saskatoon is quite a little bastion of the arts I understand. I've never lived in SK, but I've travelled there a lot and many of my friends have lived there.
Old 07-18-2009, 10:26 AM   #5
Assistant Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Webster View Post
Hello from Kansas City, MO,
Would love to find out more about Saskatchewan.
Mark,
What would you like to know? I would think Saskatchewan and Kansas would be similar in some ways. And no, it isn't all flat, lol. Southwest Saskatchewan is very hilly and Cypress Hills Provincial Park has the highest elevation west of the Rockies I believe (not really sure about that, but I know it does have a very high elevation).