"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 11-18-2007, 05:44 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Hi everybody

Hi everyone, i found this forum while i was searching for direction on how to use chicken broth to cook the chicken. i am pretty new to cooking and am still exploring different ways of cooking.so ya does any one know how i should use the Heinz Chicken Broth to cook chicken??

i bought that packet without knowing how to use it.

sitara

Old 11-18-2007, 07:25 AM   #2
Executive Chef

What are you trying to do to the chicken - casserole/stew, roast, poach, stirfry, etc? You don't have to use broth to cook chicken in at all but it depends on what you want. Tell us that and then I think you will be inundated with options!

Old 11-18-2007, 07:26 AM   #3
Executive Chef

Oh and welcome to DC by the way!! Many an expert (not me though!!) seems to reside here.
Old 11-18-2007, 08:55 AM   #4
Sous Chef

Hi Sitara and welcome. Chicken Broth to cook chicken? For me that would be to make a broth to stew chicken in for a soup or to have cooked chicken for a recipe such as enchiladas. I would still add more seasoning to the broth. The seasonings would depend on the type of chicken dish/recipe that I am making.
Old 11-18-2007, 10:39 AM   #5
Assistant Cook

yeah i want to stir fry the chicken, what sort of seasoning should i put? by the way, that chicken broth is the creamy sort. so is it ok to stir fry it? and can you tell me the directions to stir fry it..??
Old 11-18-2007, 11:03 AM   #6
Chief Eating Officer

Stir frying is a dry cooking method so you would not want to use the broth for that.
Old 11-18-2007, 07:43 PM   #7
Executive Chef

I wouldn't add a cream broth to a stirfry but you can add a bit of the normal stuff after the initial stirfrying part. Helps thin down the thicker sauces.
Old 11-18-2007, 08:25 PM   #8
Head Chef