Hi Everyone! New here from Texas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maelinde

Senior Cook
Hiya everyone! I've been lurking here for a week or two and just really like this forum.

I've been a home cook basically since I was 5 - assisting my mom. I was putting full meals on the table since age 10. My mom and grams really taught me well.

Now, I cook for my hubby and sometimes my kitties (with veterinary approval, of course).

For Christmas 2014, my hubby got me a much anticipated Excalibur food dehydrator, and I absolutely LOVE it! Hadn't had much chance to use it as I was injured in a recent car accident on 2/13, but used it the other day to make some lovely potato chips. Hubby ate most of them before I could get to them...

I also love to bake, cook just about anything for ourselves and groups of friends, and of course use that dehydrator.

I have a recipe for fresh salsa that Randy (hubby) and I created several years ago that is always requested at parties. We had fun that weekend eating the "mistakes". I'll see if I can't post that in the near future.

The cold and icy weather we've been having really get me enjoying making stews. I don't have any recipes for those - just all by taste and what is in the pantry/fridge.

If you can't tell, I can be a bit chatty. ;)

This is a great and informative group and I hope to be a positive contributer. :chef:

Welcome to DC, Maelinde. It sounds like you'll fit right in here. Join the party and share some of your cooking ideas with us.

Last edited:
Hiya everyone! I've been lurking here for a week or two and just really like this forum.

I've been a home cook basically since I was 5 - assisting my mom. I was putting full meals on the table since age 10. My mom and grams really taught me well.

Now, I cook for my hubby and sometimes my kitties (with veterinary approval, of course).