Hi from here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

quiviran

Assistant Cook
Hello all. Just a few words of introduction.

I'm here to learn. This site was suggested to me by my son as we were discussing silicone bake-ware. I'll be posting my questions on that in the cookware thread later.

I am a retired engineer and I have always prepared much of our families food. Being an engineer, there was always a tendency toward the chemistry experiment school of food preparation (follow recipes exactly, no variation possible) and, while I was still working, speed of preparation (a can of mushroom soup is a great base for a sauce, isn't it?) was important.

Now I have different possibilities and interests. I live and travel full time in an RV. So I cook in a galley, but it has a three-burner propane stove, a propane oven and a microwave/convection oven. Not a bad setup, but requires some forethought when planning meals and selecting cookware, etc. I have also read The Omnivores Dilemma. While I'm not becoming a retro-hunter-gatherer, I'm working to improve what I eat. I'm at the point where I believe that Natural and Fresh foods are the things to look for, Balance in consumption is required and Simple in preparation keeps it real. Now I'm trying to put those beliefs into some meaningful practice.

I see I kind of blew the few words of introduction. This looks like a great community. I expect to read much more than I post. Like I said, I'm here to learn.

Larry

Hello quiviran - said like a true engineer! Welcome. Not being much of a cook myself I started by paying strict attention to recipes. Now I wander a bit, but not in baking. You will like this place.

Welcome to the site. I think you will find yourself posting just as much as reading. This place gets addictive :LOL:

welcome q.