"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 05-16-2016, 08:10 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Hi from Texas!

Good morning!

I love to cook and I am glad to be a part of this community! Cajun, hot and Spicy are my favorites. I am a decent cook always looking for ways to improve. I am pretty good with the wood smoker, just getting into dutch oven cooking and I am learning how to can.

I live outside of a small town in East Texas with my wife, daughter and Basset hound LuLuBelle. Beside cooking I enjoy reading, hunting, fishing, good bourbon and great cigars. In my spare time I am a Captain with the local volunteer fire department and a HazMat Technician.

Hope you have a great week.
Alan

Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!
Culturedhick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 11:05 AM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Welcome to DC! I love bassets!

Old 05-16-2016, 11:15 AM   #3
Master Chef

Welcome. Love cigars too. Not enough time in a day for them though.

Sent from my iPhone using Discuss Cooking
Old 05-16-2016, 03:07 PM   #4
Executive Chef

Welcome to DC! I'm also into "Q", Cajun and spicy food. I'll throw Thai into the spicy mix as well as SW and the spicier side of Mexican and Tex-Mex. Nothing like a good bowl of Terlingua red! Planning a crawfish boil in the next couple of weeks.
Old 05-16-2016, 03:09 PM   #5
Assistant Cook

Welcome. I'm new here myself.
Old 05-16-2016, 03:26 PM   #6
Certified Pretend Chef

Welcome to DC.
Old 05-16-2016, 09:39 PM   #7
Assistant Cook

Thanks for the welcome! D.C. is going to ruin my diet.