Hi, I'm new here!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChefJune

Master Chef
I'm a food and wine consultant and educator from the New York Metro Area. I can almost see the Statue of Liberty from my windows!

I've been in the hospitality business for more than 20 years, and still am learning new things every day.

I'm looking forward to meeting new folks here, and exchanging ideas. :chef:

Aw! Can we switch places ChefJune? Welcome to DC! You'll love it here - meet kind and warm people and gain lots of great recipes.

Welcome to the site ChefJune! We are so happy that you and your friends have joined us.

SizzlininIN said:
Welcome ChefJune! Please jump right in. Do you have a favorite dish to prepare? Care to share?
Thanks for the great welcome, everyone. I know I'm going to like it here!

Sizzlin' here's my favorite recipe... Scallops are my most favorite food in the world.... and my favorite wine to pair with it. The recipe comes from my cookbook, "Feastivals Cooks at Home. http://www.feastivals.com/cookbook.asp

Scallops Tommy
Scallops are my favorite food, and this is my favorite way to prepare them. The recipe is courtesy of Chef Sulim Tomás—“Tommy”, when he was chef of the long-gone Half Shell restaurant in Boston. Be careful not to buy watery scallops. The water indicates that they¹ve been treated with chemicals to keep them fresh. These chemicals will make them taste like soap suds. Not the flavor you¹re looking for.
6 servings
1 ½ cups thinly sliced white onions
½ cup fish broth or ¼ cup each water and dry white vermouth 2 pounds scallops ­ Nantucket scallops preferred (if you use the larger sea scallops, slice them in two or three)
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme or marjoram (or 1 teaspoon dried)
sea salt and white pepper to taste
¼ cup Fino Sherry