Hi Houdini, welcome to DC! I have tried various types of rice but have yet to run into Forbidden rice. As the name suggests, I would think that it orginates from China and due to its nutritional value, it is rather popular with vegans and vegetarians. As jkath suggested, start a thread and see if anyone can help you with recipes etc. In any case, have a great time here!
The proof of the pudding is in the eating!