"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 04-03-2009, 08:16 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

I am new here. I want to cook more. Is this a good place to be?

Hello. I am new to this forum. But not to forum-ing. I do not cook as much as I buy those magazines with all the recipes with the pictures. I love those magazines.

I want to cook more, but don't because I do not have anyone to cook for. But I want to start some type of process where I am moving toward making a nice meal every Saturday. So I thought I would join a place like this and maybe get off my rear and get something going. I know how to cook. I helped my mom growing up. I worked in a restaurant years ago but that was mainly kitchen prep. And I have watched a lot of the Food Network. I just need to get to it.

Is this the best place like this for cooking?

Tim.

Old 04-03-2009, 08:31 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Without a doubt!

This is a very friendly place with loads of people who want to help.

I started out cooking for one when I got divorced and went on from there. It's not hard to do depending on what you like to eat.

I think the best way to go is to just pick a recipe you like the look of from one of those magazines or the Food network and make it. Some are easily reduced in size to one or two portions. Others are larger portions but with leftovers that freeze easily. Soups, stews, pot roasts, chili pasta sauces fall into that category.

Old 04-03-2009, 08:39 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Excellent. Thank you for your reply. I think the thing that really interests me are the, I don't know how to say it, the sauces that the cooks make to top a meat or veg. For example, Bobby Flay will grill a fillet of fish, but then make some type of topping to put on it that includes maybe a sweet, a sour, some salt, maybe some spice. Know what I mean?