"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 08-26-2008, 05:15 PM   #1
Cook

Looking forward to great cooking fun.

hi to all. i am a medium skill cook in tampa fl. i was often told that i should persue a career in cooking but i feel that i would enjoy it less if cooking were my job. after working on the service and floor side of a number of fine dining resturants and seeing the chefs go into rage mode often, i felt that cooking for friends and family was my best choice. anyone else out there feel the same?

p.s. i have huge respect for chefs at all levels of cusine.

Old 08-26-2008, 05:23 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Welcome to DC....Make yourself at home!

Have Fun!

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 05:38 PM   #3
Master Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by sichuan dingdong View Post
hi to all. i am a medium skill cook in tampa fl. i was often told that i should persue a career in cooking but i feel that i would enjoy it less if cooking were my job. after working on the service and floor side of a number of fine dining resturants and seeing the chefs go into rage mode often, i felt that cooking for friends and family was my best choice. anyone else out there feel the same?

p.s. i have huge respect for chefs at all levels of cusine.
If only I could go back to my twenties again. A cooking carreer would be my dream (of course with my current knowledge). I would take a course in cullinary arts from a prestigeous cooking school, then take a teaching course, and become a cooking teacher, or proffesor of culinary arts. That way I could be creative, share my love for cooking, and teach others, all at the same time. Plus, I'd get summers off.
What more could a guy ask for in a job?