"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!

Old 01-01-2014, 04:33 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

New guy from Texas

Hello! My name is Brandon and I am a total novice at cooking. I feel that it would be a very good skill to learn and that is why I am here. My current diet consists primarily of cold cut sandwiches and take out! Definitely not a good thing. I'm looking forward to reading up a bunch of stuff on the forums, and getting insight when I feel most lost from the more experienced people here.

Wish me luck!

Old 01-01-2014, 04:37 PM   #2
Cupcake

Hi, Brandon! Welcome to DC. We were all novices at some point, and are all still novices at some things. Do you have a place that you wish to start?

Soups and stews are pretty forgiving for a new cook. So is grilling. What types of foods do you want to cook? Chances are there will be someone who is interested in those same things.

Old 01-01-2014, 04:41 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Thanks for the welcome. I haven't fully put much thought into what I want to learn how to cook. I'd like to learn to cook all kinds of things from omelettes to stir fries to delicious steaks to fancy desserts. I live alone, so if I do try something, and butcher it, its not a big deal to make a PB&J and try again the next night.

Biggest set-back will probably be the fact that I do not eat chicken. I don't much care for it. So I'll be steering clear of chicken recipes.
Old 01-01-2014, 06:24 PM   #4
Head Chef

Hi GI JOE.
Welcome to DC.

Josie
Old 01-01-2014, 08:16 PM   #5
Assistant Cook

Is there any place I should start? A sticky or a forum for newbies? I really don't know where I should start, other than buying ingredients and trying recipes. Which seems like it could become a real waste of money.
Old 01-01-2014, 08:19 PM   #6
Executive Chef

Maybe if you told us what you would like to start with we could point you in the right direction.