The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

knight76

Senior Cook
Hi all.

I found this site whilst surfing the net at work looking up sauce recipes, mostly the bechamel variations.

I am a novice cook who really enjoys cooking things and getting the final result to taste. It's like building something with your hands and getting to see the final results. Except this is with your tongue.

I can cook basic meals for the family like meat and 3 veg, roasts etc, can cook shortctust pastry for mince pies so I get by.

I am starting to get into learning cooking more things myself from scratch, instead of using a packet mix gravy I want to learn how to make this myself for example.

Currently I am into sauces and want to get some nice sauces under my belt mostly for family dinners like a nice steak sauce or sauce to have with lamb, a nice sauce for chicken etc. I have read about the mother sauces and started cooking bechamel which I can cook now, and veloute which I can cook.

I am in Australia btw and am sure I will have some questions about different things when I get the urge to cook them.

Anyway, thats me!

Welcome to DC,
glad to have you join us..Just jump in and ask questions our members are great at helping out.
kadesma:)

Thanks all, I have already learned some things I never knew and tried some stuff out, like grilling steak like a restaurant.

Great site.

Welcome to the forums. I hope to visit Australia some day!

I have visited New York and found it to be awesome. Just the sheer size of the city was mind blowing.

Sydney is my closest city and it's cbd (collection of sky scrapers) is tiny compared to New York.

I also spent time elsewhere in the states when there, LA, San Diego, Anaheim, Washington.