"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!
Old 06-21-2006, 08:35 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
new new new

Hi, my name's Ian. I'm 18 and a complete novice at cooking. I figured cooking forums would be the best way to learn so I registered to like 5 different ones and am copying and pasting the same message. Right off, I was wondering if anyone knew of some books or other resources good for beginners. I need the how-to-hold-a-knife kind of help. That basic. Please, anyone feel free to give me any form of advice they feel would benefit me, such as recommended projects, info on what does what and why, different tools... Believe me, there's is no possible way you can give me too much information, I love coming back and finding new things for me. I'm all about being unbiased and taking in the vastness of the world, hence the 5 different forums (trying to get a variety of advice and opinions). But I gotta tell you, I love to ask questions, so you've been warned. O yeah, about the questions, people sometimes misunderstand my questioning with rudeness. I have to honestly say it is a complete misunderstanding because it's pure curiosity and I never mean to offend anyone. I'm all about learning and not being right. I'm not afraid to be wrong, hence all the questions, or something like that, i dunno, im rambling. thanks to anyone who's gona help me!

rawcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 09:01 PM   #2
Executive Chef
Send a message via Skype™ to MJ
Hi Ian! Welcome to our community.

MJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 09:11 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
Welcome aboard, Ian!
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:34 AM   #4
Master Chef
Welcome to the DC family, Ian!