Newbie playing with exotic foods

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kujiraya

Assistant Cook
Hi, I'm a newbie who likes to play with exotic foods, but sometimes, even before I'm familiar with the basic techniques. Recently, I've been toying with various Chinese dried ingredients like dried abalone, dried sea cucumber, black moss, swallow's nests, etc. Here are some dishes I've been experimenting on: Confit of Abalone in Black Truffled Butter, Duck Stuffed With Black Moss And Chestnuts, Swallow's Nests Poached With Quail Eggs, and Candied Sea Cucumber With Glace Fruits In Ginger Syrup. I'm hoping there are like-minded people here who'd be willing to help me improve my recipes. Cheers!

welcome, kuj.

you certainly sound adventurous in the kitchen. i'm looking forward to reading about or possibly seeing some of your results.

hmm, i think you might be looking for trouble, though. either the quail or the swallows aren't gonna be very happy with you.

hmm, i think you might be looking for trouble, though. either the quail or the swallows aren't gonna be very happy with you.

You're right, buckytom. I keep a few pet parrots, so I know how much damage birds' beaks can cause. I've also watched Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds". I sure wouldn't be picking any qwallows with BIRDS!!

To Kylie1969: ?!?Aussie Aussie OI OI OI?!?!? Prawn on the barbie? Koala stuffed with witjuti grubs and smoked in gum tree leaves - served with 1963 Mildara "Peppermint Patty" Cabernet Sauvignon?

you certainly sound adventurous in the kitchen. i'm looking forward to reading about or possibly seeing some of your results.

Thanks so much for the encouragement, buckytom! I might describe the creative process behind my Confit of Abalone In Black Truffled Butter, so that you might be able to catch a glimpse of how my brain works.