"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!
Old 08-19-2007, 09:49 AM   #1
Contest Winner
Cool Remember me?

Anyone remember me? I used to be around quite a bit before but "life" got in the way and I've not been here in a long time. I miss it though and will be here more often now, I think. I forgot how much I love this place!

So where have I been? Well, basically I just did a whole, big career change. I used to be a pre-school teacher, and while I loved it, the wages were very difficult to live off of. Anyway, i have a friend of mine who is a maitre'd in a fine dining establishment. (like a place where a typical bill will be over $600 because of wine and so forth) He suggested I get into being a server because I love food (talking about it, cooking it, etc.) and am very friendly and outgoing as well as the money is very good.

So.. basically.. that is what I am doing now! It's not like a Denny's "do you want fries with that?" type of waitress though. Total opposite. Everything is slow, and steady, and nice and relaxed and upscale. The dishes are amazing and the menu changes daily. I will have maybe 3, 4 of 5 tables a night and that is it... but each one stays over 2 hrs usually and there are multiple courses.

Anyway... I love it! I am making an excellent living now and enjoy being able to see, taste, and talk about food in my career as well. I never, ever would have thought to get into this industry, but I am so glad I did! (and am so lucky to have had the "in" of knowing the maitre'd... as most people in fine dining have to have been in the service industry for YEARS before they will even look at you)

So... that's where I've been! Oh, and I've moved as well. (same city, but still, its quite the ordeal) I've been helping my Mom renovate her house this summer too. Just busy, busy, busy!