"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!
Old 02-22-2008, 06:43 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
Unhappy Taking a Group of 10 College Students Skiing for Spring Break!!

My names is Sherri M. I'm new at this so bear with me!!!!!! My husband and I are taking 10 of my sons College friends sking for Spring Break and guess who's the COOK? That's right good ole MOM. I haven't a clue how to cook for such a large group. Can any one help me? I think I have my menu planned out I just don't know how much of each item that I'm going to need. Any sugguestion would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Worried MOM

sherridalemason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 06:51 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
Site Moderator
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Since you are taking 10+ college-age boys (guessing mostly boys) skiing, you are definitely going to have to cook in quantity and make sure you have lots of hearty dishes.

What kind of kitchen/equipment will you have available to you? Will you have to bring all your groceries or can you shop once there?

I would suggest you use tried-and-true recipes if you will be cooking in an unfamiliar kitchen.

I can't recommend any specific foods because I have never been in your position. I'm sure someone else will come along and offer better help.

"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 06:56 PM   #3
Hospitality Queen
Holy Cow Sheri! Let's see...normal serving size x college size....x hungry-from-skiing size=100 portions, I believe!

Seriously - what a great trip it will be!