Taking a Group of 10 College Students Skiing for Spring Break!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sherridalemason

Assistant Cook
Hello,

My names is Sherri M. I'm new at this so bear with me!!!!!! My husband and I are taking 10 of my sons College friends sking for Spring Break and guess who's the COOK? That's right good ole MOM. I haven't a clue how to cook for such a large group. Can any one help me? I think I have my menu planned out I just don't know how much of each item that I'm going to need. Any sugguestion would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Worried MOM :wacko:

Since you are taking 10+ college-age boys (guessing mostly boys) skiing, you are definitely going to have to cook in quantity and make sure you have lots of hearty dishes.

What kind of kitchen/equipment will you have available to you? Will you have to bring all your groceries or can you shop once there?

I would suggest you use tried-and-true recipes if you will be cooking in an unfamiliar kitchen.

I can't recommend any specific foods because I have never been in your position. I'm sure someone else will come along and offer better help.

Holy Cow Sheri! Let's see...normal serving size x college size....x hungry-from-skiing size=100 portions, I believe!

Seriously - what a great trip it will be!

A couple ideas popped into mind: do you have a few crock pots you could bring? I often have frozen meals in gallon sized ziplocs, brought them to our destination in an ice chest and then cooked them on the days they're needed. Things like beef stroganoff, chili, beef stew, french dip meat, etc work well.

Another idea: overnight french toast is always a winner - and since you make it the evening before, you won't have to take much time in the morning.