TL;DR: I'm awesome :D

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ThePunkHippie

Assistant Cook
Hi, I figured I should introduce myself :)

My name's Melanie, but I go by Lampie. I've been working as a freelance artist since around 2001. In 2006 I quit my call center job, & figured out ways to save money so I could afford to stay home on my fiance's income. I cook a lot of things from scratch & hardly ever buy convenience foods. I've been in charge of meals in my house for 10+ years now, & I love finding new recipes.
I use a program called Living Cookbook - I bought it back in 2005 & at the time I had a HUGE obsession with cookbooks; I had over 200.
Since then I've managed to get rid of most of them, I have about 10 that I'm keeping, & the rest I've been getting rid of (donating or selling) as I copy the recipes I want to keep from them.

My fiance & I are planning on living in a van starting the spring of 2014, & in preparation for this I've been doing a lot of research on foods that don't need to be refrigerated, & recipes that can be made from these foods. I'm actually planning on publishing a book once I've gotten enough recipes. It's going to be called Refried Brains: Recipes for after the Zombie Apocalypse.
The van we've got has a 3-burner stove, so the recipes in the book are all going to be things that can be prepared on a stovetop/over an open flame. I want this book to be helpful to people who camp often, people who live where electricity & refrigeration isn't reliable, & people who are trying to stock their bomb/emergency shelters as well as people living in RVs.