Who I am

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Myrna Swyers

Assistant Cook
I just love to cook ! I live in Miami so we have a good many type cuisines here but my favorite is Cuban. I do a lot of Jamaican cooking too but it must be mild - I have a "wimp" palate. My stepfather was Chinese and I have cooked Chinese "most all my life". I am originally from St Louis and had many Italian friends there - they have the best Italian Restaurants in the world ! and of course all my friends cooked Italian. I had many Greek friends there, also, but Greek is not one of my favorite cuisines.

I am looking forward to this web site and the main reason I came here was to see what "saleratus" used for. I know it is baking soda but used in soup ! I saw an 1870 recipe and just wondered about it as it was new to me and I have been cooking for 60 years !

Ciao Myrna, welcome to DC, we are very happy to have you with us!! So you are into Cuban cuisine? I love to experiment with cuisines from different parts of the world, but I haven't got much opportunity yet to explore the caribbean food too much... I hope you can introduce some of them to us!!
But most of all, have fun!!

Hello Myrna! You sound like you have vast experiences in many regional delights! I can't wait to see some of your recipes!

Welcome!

Hey Myrna! :) You will love it here. There is so much to learn!
Your eclectic exposure intrigues me. I'm waiting to try a recipe from you!

Well, the Cubans almost always use what is called a "sofrito" in most of their dishes. My mom always made ox tail stew and this was the only way she used ox tails . But the Cubans ! a different story. Here is Rabo Encendito !

Salt and pepper about three pounds of nice lean ox tails.Brown in a pressure cooker (or can be stewed until tender), after having added about three cups water. Pressure cook about 40 minutes.

In a separate skillet ...