Chili Challenge

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PrincessFiona60

Ogress Supreme
Moderator Emeritus
Here's the deal. The facility is having a chili cook off in June. I thought it would be fun to create a DC Chili that I will cook and present as my entry into the cook off.

It needs to be not too hot, we are not going for spice heat, a little heat is fine.

Can DC help me come up with a uniquely ours recipe?

Has to be beef, I'm not going out to shoot Bambi for a chili cook off...

It is likely illegal to shoot Bambi anyways.. his mom on the other hand.. likely fair game if in season.. :yum:

Beans on the side...

Yes, beans on the side. Have to teach these Montana folks about chili with NO beans.

I could go over to Student Housing on Campus and see if the deer are around...

I wish I could help but I am not a chili expert by any means. However I'm excited about this thread, wish you luck, & I'll bet I'll learn a lot from it. The only thing I know about chili is my best friends add some spices i think are a little different to their chili & it's always delicious. They add parsley, & cinnamon which may be common in other areas but here in my neck of the woods we use mainly chili powder & paprika & maybe some onion or onion powder, & possibly ketchup or tomatoes of some form. And that's it. Good luck & happy ingredient searching.

Just to float an idea: Ladybird Johnson's Pedernales River Chili recipe:

If nothing else it's interesting because of her status as First Lady, back in the year...

I particularly note the fresh onion and garlic, and tomatoes in the form of canned tomatoes.

And another idea:

One great (IMO) chili idea is to use masa harina (Mexican prepared corn dough made from treating corn/maize/hominy with a lime solution then dried, used for making tortillas, tamales, etc.) as a thickener. I don't know why this works so good but it does.