"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Soups, Stews & Casseroles > Chili

Old 12-08-2009, 02:04 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Too Salty, Too Greasy - Chili

Hello, I am a complete adult newbie to cooking. That is what I get for going out so much. I was making a basic chili but it tasted really salty and really greasy. What mistakes do you think I made? It can't make me sick. I have been trying to suffer through the chili.

I have done this a couple of times. It tastes OK, imagine Wendy's Chili. The Chili I made was a lot like that.

Here are my ingredient and steps.

1 lb Ground Beef, it was cheap at 85/15.
2 bell peppers, chopped, I cooked some with the ground beef.

Cooked the ground beef and peppers, added pepper and chili pepper.

Large can of tomato sauce. Some organic tomato sauce. Cooked in a pot.
(probably 8 servings? of the sauce)

Can of kidney beans

Cooked rice.
Chopped onions.

I added garlic salt, pepper and chili pepper to the stuff in the pot. And then added the meat.

-------

I cooked this on low-medium heat for several hours.

It turned out OK, but it was still too salty. And I even washed the grease off the meat, but still seemed greasy.

I will chose a better tomato sauce next time, I think that is what could have been better. Also, they say add a raw potato to soak in a lot of the salt.

Old 12-08-2009, 02:13 PM   #2
Head Chef

I never use garlic salt, that may have been where you got the extra saltiness. Use garlic chopped, or garlic powder next time. I would try putting the whole thing in the refrigerator and letting it cool overnight. Some of the grease should rise to the top and harden. You could then take the hard grease off before you warm it up again. Did you also salt the meat when you first cooked it?

Old 12-08-2009, 02:16 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef