Confused about Fondue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lindsayanng

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone.. i am VERY VERY new here. Actually, i'm new to the whole "home making" and "entertaining" thing. I am 26 years old and have been married for a year and bought our house 1 year ago. We (my husband and i) Have spent the past year getting the house up to where we want it. We have re-built a kitchen, moved walls, and all that stuff, MAINLY so we can start having people over. Before our house, we lived in a one room apartment that was smaller than most people's garages.

So my husband is out of town for the weekend and I figured its a perfect opportunity for a small girls night get together.

I got a fondue pot for X-mas and have a mini crock pot which i read is good for fondue, but i am REALLY cofused..

I had made fondue once about 2 weeks ago with my fondue pot. the recipe was cheddar cheese, mustard powder, 1/2 bottle of beer, and some other things.. it tasted ok, but i always expected fondue to be more "creamy" this fondue seemed like it was.. well, its hard to describe.. but ya know when you melt cheddar and it separated and you get the oil and the cheese? It was like that, but it was like the liquid beer mixed with the oil, and the cheese and other ingredients were.. well, "granular?" i guess is the best way to describe it..

I just guess i thought fondue was more like Nacho Cheese Dip but BETTER.. Am i wrong??

Does anyone have a GOOD FONDUE RECIPE that is creamy?? ANY suggestions are GREATLY appreciated.. the ladies (mom, sister, cousin her GF, and best friend from when i was little) are coming over on SUNDAY!!!!

I will be making TWO cheese fondues, so i figure i will try my mom's recipe for Welsch Rabbit/Rarebit and a creamier one..

THANKS!!!!