ISO: Guacamole dip

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

texasgirl

Master Chef
I am looking for a TNT recipe. I have tried to make this only one other time and I used a packaged seasoning and it was NASTY!! Too much salt!!

Anyone that likes avocados have a recipes?
Maybe.....Jkath......Happyavocado....

I'm sure Happy Avocado will be along to help you out. In the mean time, I am no expert on guacomole but this is what I do:

1 fresh avocado ( should be soft to the touch), moosh it up with a fork, leaving some chunks
scallions, as much as you like sliced thin
chili powder, as much as you like
mayo, dont use too much or it will lose the avocado flavor...thats about it! I eat it with nacho chips, or put it on a nacho platter with chips, salsa, guacamole, cheese. Yumbo!

Thanks Amber!!
Also, how do you make them soften> I only picked ones that I could easily push in the stem, that's what my sister told me to do. I would call her, but, she's always too busy.

texasgirl said:
Thanks Amber!!
Also, how do you make them soften> I only picked ones that I could easily push in the stem, that's what my sister told me to do. I would call her, but, she's always too busy.

When you buy the avocado, it should be "ripe", soft to the touch. If you need to ripen it yourself, stick it in a brown paper bag for a day or two and that should ripen (soften) it.

If you stick your thumb into the skin it should leave an indentation. Actually "press" your thumb into it, dont stick your thumb in it:LOL:

Last edited:
If the avocados are that soft, they must be ready to use. I don't put much in my guacamole. I mash mine leaving it chunky, a clove of garlic per avocado, lime juice to make it the consistency I want and salt to taste. A bit of salsa or tomato may be added it you like it that way, but I prefer mine without. Easy but delicious.