"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Sauces, Marinades, Rubs > Sauces

Old 12-24-2003, 06:54 PM   #1
Cook

Beginner with sauces

Since there is no "Beginner" thead, I decided to ask here :) Im new to cooking and want to experiment with making my own sauces (or marinades). Changing the taste wouldnt be the hard part, but what would I use for a base? Vinegar seems to be to hard, and Im not a fan of tomato sauce. What are the most of the sauces out there based out of? Sorry for the barage of questions.

Does anyone have any suggestions on beginner sites for guys like me :) Just a lonely guy looking to make it haha

Will

Old 12-24-2003, 09:25 PM   #2
Senior Cook

Will;
This is a poser. There are literally THOUSANDS of sauces out there and lots of different ingredients for sauce bases. Stocks, broths, mayonnaise, butter, cream, tomato sauce are just among a few items that can be used as a sauce base. I would recommend getting a copy of "The Joy Of Cooking". This is a good cookbook for anyone who wants to learn a broad range of cooking techniques. In addition, post on the board what you are trying to accomplish and we can give you a bit of guidance.

Old 12-25-2003, 06:04 AM   #3
Executive Chef

well you should master doing vinaigrettes, since they can be a sauce, a dressing, a marinade, a baste, etc. the basic thing to remember is that there is 2-3 parts oil or fat, to 1 part vinegar, or acid. you can make any type of vinaigrette as well: asian, southwestern, latin, mediterranean, classic american, etc. you don't have to cook a vinaigrette so you won't have to worry about burning it, or overcooking it, etc, until you start incorporating reduced liquids, or cooked fat (i.e. bacon).
Old 12-28-2003, 12:17 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to kitchenelf
Hi will,