ISO Vegan sauce help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yourstrulyewalani

Senior Cook
Has anyone ever successfully made a white sauce or any cream sauce using soy milk, almond milk or anything along those lines? I am looking for a vegan sauce idea for pouring over sauted or steamed veggies. I have no experience with cooking using milk alternatives for sauce bases.

Thank you!

I have done this and the real trick to success is to add some nutritional yeast. It substantially improves flavor. I would avoid rice milk as it's sort of thin. You might try hemp milk instead of soy - it's a little thicker and better behaved under heat. It's not psychoactive and you can most likely find it at your local healthfood store.

Oddly enough I have a small carton of hemp milk here at home I just havent gotten around to using it. I'm too chicken! Thank you very much for the advice I have been at a loss for this. Any suggestions for a butter substitute? Say if I wanted to make a vegan rue to start a white sauce?

There is a product we get here in Canada that goes under the name of Earth Balance spread. It is soy based. DH can't have anything with dairy or casein and this is also vegan approved. I don't know if the exact same product is available in the states but there should be an equivalent. Check your Natural or Organic Food Store (or some grocery stores carry it as well now.

I have made white sauce for DH using soy milk and tapioca starch. It works very well. I can even get it into a consistancy that when I use it in his lasagna it mimics cheese. He loves it. Just depends on how much starch to soy you use whether it is a sauce or something thicker. I use different seasonings in it for different purposes. Sorry, I don't know my proportions, I have never calculated them.