Techniques of cooking with sauces

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RoboCop

Assistant Cook
I generally like to make milk-based sauces with an aciditic touch (balsamic viniger, tamatoes, etc) with the natural flavours of the main ingrediant.

So what do you like to do when creating a sauce? Simple approach? Experiment? Any particular one you like? Bascially this is just a thread to discuss sauces =).

i love to make a hollandaise... i can make a mean one, yummmmmmmmmmm....... i dip green beans in it....
i'm great at cheese sauce, too, a roux-based one.mmm-mmmmm!

luvs_food said:
i love to make a hollandaise... i can make a mean one, yummmmmmmmmmm....... i dip green beans in it....
i'm great at cheese sauce, too, a roux-based one.mmm-mmmmm!

Interesting, never considerd dipping green beans in hollandaise.

I love sauces, but I am not good at making them. I have tried to make my own and always end up with a mess that does not taste good. Sauces are one thing I really need to learn how to make better.

I am moving this thread to the Sauces, Marinades, Rubs section of the board as it would fit better there.

I love making sauces - any kind - but there are so many different ones - cooked, uncooked, reduction, etc - are you thinking of a particular technique?

I've just 'mastered' a buerre blanc using a recipe by Tyler Florence; he incorporates a bit of cream into the sauce, and it really does help to stabilize it.

Classic Beurre Blanc: White Butter Sauce
Copyright 2000 Television Food Network, G.P. All rights reserved

1/3 cup champagne vinegar
1/3 cup dry white wine
2 shallots, finely chopped
1/2 lemon, juiced
2 bay leaves
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cubed
Salt and pepper
2 tablespoons chopped chives